top of page
  • Airplay Magazine Review

Serious Records Drops a International Funk Compilation!

Home of The International Funk Out

Compilation Project from Serious Music Group

A local feel – but with international appeal!

Originating from the Mile-High City of Denver Co, the syndicated radio show A Funk Above The Rest has been a strong and effective advocate for the American Musical Art Form known as Funk! Host Skip The Funktologist has partnered with Serious Music Group and Sparkx Radio Network to release the project, “Home Of The International Funk Out!”

This release showcase’s the influence Funk music has had on the worldwide music scene for decades! The music connects the past with the present and the present with the future. Since its inception during the mid-60’s from Soul Brother #1 James Brown, and right up to current superstar Bruno Mars, this genre of music is still relevant today even though mainstream media has minimized its exposure to public platforms. Many artists from around the world continue to write, record, perform, and produce their own versions of Funk. With this project, we set out to share these evidences with you.

Home Of The International Funk Out was released on April 14, 2017. First to download and streaming services, then eventually to major retail outlets in the form of physical CD’s. The music is scheduled for airplay on national and international networks. Major artists as well as independents from around the globe and of course the USA, have contributed songs that will reflect the effects of Funk! So, plan to enjoy this release vigorously!

A few artists contributing tracks include:

Eric EQ Young: Master of the stage, performer for the soul, Eric “EQ” Young is known for his ability to fire up concert crowds with his high-energy passionate vocals and funky bass beats. This consummate musician has a long history of opening for, playing with, and being signed by established names in the business. Today, EQ confirms his place among the constellation of great Bay Area funk stars as the Stellar bass player for the hit producing band Con Funk Shun! Check out Eric’s track “Dance With Me” right here, right now.

Brent Carter: Is among the most criminally unsung singers of soul - a man who has been the lead singer for both R&B super bands Tower of Power AND the Average White Band, PLUS sang the Maurice White vocal parts for Maurice Hines’ short-lived Earth Wind & Fire on Broadway musical, “Hot Feet.” From the time he was a child – Brent has worked in national traveling theater shows, sung radio commercial jingles and was a featured background singer for Regina Belle and BeBe & CeCe Winans. Now, the New York native is embarking upon his first foray into recording/performing as a solo artist. That journey begins with his clever, catchy and flirtatious debut single, “So Smooth.”

Jerome “BIGFOOT” Brailey: Is listed as one of Rolling Stones top 100 greatest drummers! His list of credits includes drumming for hit making groups such as The Chambers Brothers, The Five Stairsteps (Jerome was the drummer on the hit O-o-H Child), and of course his well-documented time spent with Parliament Funkadelic, playing on many of their hits through the mid-70’s including co-writing “Give Up The Funk (Tear The Roof Of The Sucker). Jerome’s current project is with his band Mutiny. Notice their track on this compilation titled “Something Better To Do.”

Woddyfunk: who hails from Japan is one of the few female talkboxers in the world. With a healthy and pure appetite for Funk, she brings an electrifying presence to any song she records or performs. Well established in her home country, her track “Initial B.C.” is a powerful statement to the fact that Funk has effectively reached distant parts of the earth.

Seven Eleven: Is the premier Funk band in The Netherlands. For more than 27 years, they have released Funk induced recordings and have played and recorded with funk-related artists such as Fred Wesley (James Brown, Parliament), Mudbone Cooper (Parliament, Bootsy’s Rubber Band), Dawn Silva (Brides of Funkenstein), Jeanette Washington (Parliament/Funkadelic, Parlet), Mike ‘Moon’ Rueben (Bernie Worrell and the WOO Warriors) and Louis Johnson (Brothers Johnson). Their song “Good Life” was chosen to grace this compilation, why? Because Funk represents a good life!

Platypus: Is one of the many bands from (Funk City) Dayton Ohio. With the success of such groups as The Ohio Players, Lakeside, Slave, Sun, Heatwave, Roger Troutman & Zapp, it appears Platypus should have shared similar results. But it didn’t happen. It’s certainly not for the lack of good material. There are several radio worthy tracks from their 1979 debut release. The compiler of the music on this compilation felt that even though the song “Love The Way You Funk” was recorded and released well over 35 years ago, it deserves exposure it never received.

We truly believe you will love the way they funk!

Media Contact Serious Music Group Dr. Charles Lester 1-888-685-0480 Columbia, South Carolina

133 views0 comments
Final logo (1).png
vector file HTL Png.png
Hip Hop heatpng.png

Sponsored by:

bottom of page